My Top 3 Books

I asked around because I was wondering what people would be interested in reading about, and one thing that was brought up was books I enjoy. So here are my top 3 that I have read and re-read numerous times.

Dave Pelzer – A Child Called It

image
This is a great read if you’re into reading about children  overcoming abusive homes and creating a new future for themselves. Based on a true story, Dave lived through torture no child should ever endure; like being stabbed by his mother and being forced to drink bleach. It’s a truly heroic depiction of a young boy becoming a man in his own right, by overcoming his abusive mother.

Martha O’Connor – The Bitch Posse

This is a great book; I’ve read it maybe 5 or 6 times. A friendship is born between 3 girls in highschhol, Cherry, Rennie, and Amy. They are sisters separated at birth, but are all very different indeed. After one of the girls has an affair with one of their teachers, things get interesting. And what seemed like an inncoent love soon turned into a nightmare. O’Connor follows them into their adulthood where one of the girls is a loving mother to be, trying to live a ‘normal’ life. Another is a writer that engages in numerous self-distructive and sexy relationships, and one is in a mental hospital and has been since that night… Even years after reading this book, I still catch myself thinking about it. One line. “You have to hurt to feel anything at all”. That statement, for me, is the one thing that haunts me most about the whole book.

Margaret Gibson – Opium Dreams

This book is kind of hard to describe so I got the description from Amazon.

Her family warned Maggie Glass never to tell the truth about them, but she does so anyway in narrating Opium Dreams, the lyrical debut novel by award-winning short story writer Margaret Gibson. Filled with imagery and insight, the novel movingly recounts an eccentric daughter’s attempt to understand her estranged father. Maggie, a young writer plagued with psychological scars and prone to epileptic seizures, returns with her son to Toronto to help care for her father, Timothy, who is quickly slipping into the netherworlds of Alzheimer’s disease. She tries to reconcile with her father, who had abandoned her when her life hit a crisis, by reconstructing the story of his life and her own as if they were a jigsaw puzzle of photographs and memories. Meanwhile, her father, separated from his daughter by an Alzheimer’s coma, falls deeper into the tender and violent flashes of his memory, dreaming of his opium-smoking, fly-boy days in World War II.

There you have it folks. My top 3. Or at least the 3 I can think of right now after 6 shots and a couple visits from good ol’ Mary Jane.

